European Materials Research Society (E-MRS) Fall Meeting 2014


The European Materials Research Society (E-MRS) was established in 1983 through the initiative of individual European Materials scientists. A number of European materials scientists who attended the MRS meetings in the U.S.A. realised that such a society could be of benefit to Europe to enhance the links between materials science and industry and to provide a voice for the materials community. Most of the problems facing the world such as energy supply and health will be solved only by breakthroughs in materials science. It is vital that the outcomes of research are utilised through technological experience and innovation for the benefit of mankind. The Fall Meeting provides the opportunity to exchange ideas, expand one’s knowledge and make new contacts. The conference will consist of 24 parallel symposia and a plenary session and provides an international forum to discuss recent advances in the field of materials science. The conference will be augmented by an exhibition of products and services of interest to the conference participants. It is the 13th E-MRS Fall Meeting following its launch in 2002 to run in parallel to the well-established Spring Meeting in France. The Fall Meeting has become increasingly multi-national with a steadily growing number of symposia and participants from all over the world.


Plenary Speakers

  • Laureate of Czochralski Award 2014
    Professor George M. Whitesides
    Harvard University
    Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology
  • Professor Clément Sanchez
    Collège de France
    Laboratoire de Chimie de la Matière Condensée, Paris
    “Integrative strategies to advanced nanostructured inorganic and hybrid materials”
  • Professor Hidenori Takagi
    Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Stuttgart
    “Emergent phase change functions of correlated electrons”

Conference Chairpersons

  • Bernard Gil
    CNRS – Université Montpellier II, France
  • Jean-François Hochepied
    MINES/ENSTA ParisTech, France
  • Joerg K.N. Lindner
    Universität Paderborn, Germany
  • Andrzej Mycielski
    Institute of Physics, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland